Pankaj Tiwari

Pankaj Tiwari (1990) is a theatre-maker and curator from Balrampur, India. He is currently a participant at DAS Theatre, Amsterdam. He also work as co-curator for Zurich Gessnerallee. He completed his Master degree in Society and Culture from IIT Gandhinagar. Moreover, he holds a diploma in Theatre (2012) from Sri Ram Centre for Performing Arts, Delhi. Pankaj works and lives between Balrampur (India) and Amsterdam. Pankaj uses theatre, food and farming as a medium for community building.

Between 2011 and 2018, Pankaj Tiwari worked as creative director for ‘The Fotons’, a performance-based group from India. He is also part of a collective called ’The Inquilaab’, which consists of Amsterdam based India artist, Sarah Naqvi. Pankaj has been the founder of several community spaces. Sabarmati Cafe & Theatre (2017) and Meraki’s Kitchen & Theatre (2015) have been a few of his initiatives around culture and community building in India. On January 25th, he initiated Current: a space, Amsterdam, which curates performances and works to build a new audience and a culture of Intersectionality.

He has worked as a theatre facilitator, consultant and educator with institutes/organisations like Ambedkar University, IIT Gandhinagar, Pearl Academy Delhi, Kranti Mumbai, Breakthrough India, Disha India etc. He was invited to be part of 4TH IETM Croatia (2018), Theatre Spektakel (2019), Bread and Puppet Theatre (2018), Imaginary School for the future of Performing Arts, Giessen (2019).

He has been part of jury members and the advisory board for several national and international art residencies and festivals. Few of them include Belluard Theatre Festival Switzerland (2020), First playback Gathering Mumbai India (2019), Theatre of the Oppressed Residency Tejgadh (2016,17). He is also curating a festival around Object, Memory and Migration for University of Minnesota 2020-21.

His selected works are Carnival: the fest of Bodies (2013-17), 30 days in September (2011-16), Laal Batti Express (2014-18), The 7Inch State (2016), They do not move (2017), The souvenir (2018).